self-conscious media

my boyfriend. he’s making it:

A final proof in a test prints body.

A final proof in a test print's body.

this got me thinking about things. about how we go about our days in-agency, creating stuff that sometimes gets used, but let’s face it most of it doesn’t. and where does it go? what does it do? i’ve also been reading Eckhart Tolle’s new book called A New Earth and in it he talks about how everything – even a rock – has an energy or a spirit. which makes me even a little more creeped out by the ideas we have which never come to fruition and instead lie around on scamp pads and in expensive half-filled Moleskines for ever and ever.

One of my books filled with ideas that will make me a millionaire.

One of my books filled with ideas that will "make me a millionaire". Will this happy rainbow hand sign come and poke my eyes out in the night? I'm not coping.

“Inside every double-paged spread is a billboard waiting to break free.”

I once read a book called The Raw Shark Texts about a guy who got haunted by Conceptual Sharks – which are basically forgotten ideas that have ganged up together and become quite vicious and ready to bite a chunk out of your brain. That book freaked me out as well. I had visions of that half-finished campaign about a sneaker cleaner creeping up on me at inconvenient times. Like when you burp up tequila in your monday morning status meeting. And then the realisation dawns that you weren’t drinking tequila last night and all you can remember is kissing your mom goodbye when it was still light…

So ANyways:

Check out this new fashion (also invented by my boyfriend) when you print out text brackets and stick them on your REAL face to give yourself a touch of digemo / abbbreviated text cool / to better convey what you are feeling  to young people who only understand stuff when it’s followed by an emoticion 🙂 Coming soon: (!!!) in the middle of your forehead.

At first glance this young lad appears to be slightly perturbed, but from the smiley face brackets on his glasses you can see he is actually in quote a good mood.

Digemo Doo: At first glance this young lad appears to be slightly perturbed, but from the smiley face brackets on his glasses you can see he is actually in quote a good mood.

Leave a Reply

