weekly roundup: getting lost in the mountains and my gran turns 95.

busy busy busy. work work work. adjusting to new routine. trying to maintain semblance of home normality by doing things like buying milk when it’s my turn. failing sometimes. succeeding at others. but i have been doing more than just work. this weekend, rei, lucy, paddy and i went hiking up in Jonkershoek in Stellenbosch to go and chill by the waterfalls there. we never reached the waterfall, because we got completely lost, but it was really fun even though hiking makes me grumpy and whine like a brat about my legs getting scratched.

Lucy with breadstick. Intrepid. Ready.

Lucy with breadstick. Intrepid. Ready.

Paddy with breadstick. Scared. Alone.

Paddy with breadstick. Scared. Alone.

These signs should have told us we were going the wrong way. But we didnt have a map.

These signs should have told us we were going the wrong way. But we didn't have a map.

Bootiful nature, spreading its legs before us.

Bootiful nature, spreading its legs before us.

Naturestach. Makes nature think im tough. Like a fern.

Naturestach. Makes nature think i'm tough. Like a fern.

Rei is freshfaced, though we have hiked for days.

Rei is freshfaced, though we have hiked for days.

Part of our lunch which included french load, aubergine dip, camembert cheese, chevin, orange humus, apples, cherry coke and lindt 70% dark. A feast. Repeat after me.

Part of our lunch which included french loaf, aubergine dip, camembert cheese, chevin, orange humus, apples, cherry coke and lindt 70% dark. A feast. Repeat after me.

Jonkershoek is really beautiful. We have plans to go back some time soon. The weather was also perfect this past weekend (although it’s now fucking with us. the wind is so bad it tossed a log across de waal drive and impaled Rei’s right headlight – can you believe it? wtf? plus, i just heard from him it was not a log, but 2 logs nailed to one another like a cross. creepy). Anyhow, last week my gran turned 95.

My gran in her room. Shes totally chilled. At 95, you would be.

My gran in her room. She's totally chilled. At 95, you would be.

95 is old man. that makes her 70 years older than me, exactly. which is almost as freaky as the giant crucifix flying in the middle of the road, except in a very different way. my aunt and uncle came down form joburg and together with my mom and my other aunt and uncle we went to her retirement home for a party. my mom organised some boys to sing frank sinatra songs and other classics from the 30s – 50s eras (my gran has lived through a lot of billboard number ones) and we ate sandwiches and cake and drank tea and it was thoroughly pleasant. my gran had a grand old time.

Me and my gran, Yvonne Campbell. 70 years between us. seventy, yulle.

Me and my gran, Yvonne Campbell. 70 years between us. seventy, y'ulle.

This nurse kindly danced with this lady. It made the other ladies skinner. Apparently she always asks him to dance and has a bit of a crush on him. He does look like Snoop Dogg. Cant blame an old lady for digging the doggy vibes.

This nurse kindly danced with this lady. It made the other ladies skinner. Apparently she always asks him to dance and has a bit of a crush on him. He does look like Snoop Dogg. Can't blame an old lady for digging the doggy vibes.

This dude here did the singing for the afternoon. His pal is on the piano. They got all the old folks singing and clapping. It was almost a full-on singalong when he sang The Way You Look Tonight.

This dude here did the singing for the afternoon. His pal is on the piano. They got all the old folks singing and clapping. It was almost a full-on singalong when he sang The Way You Look Tonight.

My mom, totally getting into the vibe.

My mom, totally getting into the vibe.

My gran again, chilled as ever.

My gran again, chilled as ever.

Where the old ladies get their hair did.

Where the old ladies get their hair did.

Me with the family in the background. One of those deep shots that makes me deal with who i am while being confronted with where i come from.

Me with the family in the background. One of those deep shots that makes me deal with who i am while being confronted with where i come from.

Happy birthday granny! xxxxxxx


Leave a Reply

