the desire to be great. some people have it. some people don’t.

i’m one of those people. i cried on the eve of my 21st because i hadn’t been made a creative director yet and that meant i could no longer be an advertising child prodigy. 21 is the age limit for child prodigy. i hadn’t even finished red and yellow when i was 21. shouldn’ t have taken that gap year working at gandalf’s and chatting up goths for tips. feel like i’ve been wasting my life.

Dont want to be just another accordion-playing brick in the wall yulle.

Don't want to be just another accordion-playing brick in the wall y'ulle.

my next life aim is to get into the advertising hall of fame before the age of 26. the advertising hall of fame really does exist, and it glorifies people for doing things like ‘being an exceptional 30 second radio writer’ and ‘being an art director who does his own kerning’. things i could be immortalised for include ‘being really good at powerpoint’ or ‘being really into the internet therefore able to tell clients how to start groups on facebook’. thing is i’m not sure i want those descriptors next to my name. i don’t feel like they differentiate my personal brand from that of copywriters who have gone before me, and who will no doubt come after me.

Need to differentiate myself. Need people to know who i am. Need people to really get me. Need them to know that i am an exceptional human being inside, that I am not just another copywriter. Need people to know how special I am.

Need to differentiate myself. Need people to know who i am. Need people to really get me. Need them to know that i am an exceptional human being inside, that I am not just another copywriter. Need people to know how special I am.

been thinking that to get into the advertising hall of fame, and not have that sick empty feeling once the party thrown in my honour is over, would be to do or be something or someone really meaningful within the industry. someone like the person who writes FIRST! first on every single article on bizcommunity. or maybe i could be the girl who has dated every male creative director in cape town. although maybe that’s not very impressive because most CDs in cape town aren’t very discriminating, and also they are a little desperate because their wives left them after they screwed some little PR floozy, and all those drugs have left their skin saggy, red and dehydrated and the only girls who will actually still look at them are misdirected, disillusioned juniors / interns and fiercely ambitious creatives such as myself.

whoa. i started that last sentence when i was 12 and kept it going right up until now.

****************************************************************************************

THREAT ALERT: just watched the skandalous BBDO sex tape. i heard the guy who filmed the creatives having sex has been fired. the chick bounces her bum up and down a lot. kind of glad the roast chicken is there. non-retouched genitals never look good. do you think she’s a strong contender for an advertising hall of fame award? should i be worried? like i twittered to another copywriter a little early, i think this sex tape is a bit lame because i’m sure some other agency already did a sex tape. and i think we can all agree that the sex tape idea, much like half the work that won at Loeries this year, was a copy of an idea the creatives involved saw on the internet. when will ppl learn that copycats always get found out.

*****************************************************************************************

just got reminded of something Brian Searle-Tripp said to me and my copywriter back when i was still an art director at the red and yellow school of hogwarts:

“Do you know what your ad has in common with pussy? It should never be seen under a bright light.”

I guess now we know why BST got into the hall of fame. sigh. i need some good quotes. gonna start generating quotes under my own name instead of hiding behind the advertising greats, Bill Bernback and David Ogilvie. Think i need to focus more on where my personal brand is and where it’s going for a bit. think i need to start making my own logo bigger, if you know what i’m saying?

Need to walk the walk. Need to talk my talk.

Need to walk the walk. Need to talk my talk.

Leave a Reply

