how does my interpretation of the Amy Winehouse archetype measure up?

every once in a while something chugs over in the great universal consciousness machine’s XX meta-chromosomes and a new female archetype is born. “Archetype” is just a fancy way of describing an idea so distinctive you can copy it whenever you run out of ideas, or you can just copy bits and pieces of it, which is what most ppl do. amy winehouse is one of those amazing phenomenons, and probably the most recent female archetype to be accepted by mainstream collective consciousness.

anyway i think my interpretation of the winehouse was very convincing on friday. let us compare my costume with other winehouse interpretations:

A traditional take on winehouse. Note the R55 tattoo and even the lilting bra strap.

My rather traditional take on winehouse. Note the R55 tattoo and even the lilting bra strap.

A less traditional interpretation of the archetype. It says, even though i am nothing but a hound dog, dogs also have demons. We also make bad choices in our relationships. Addiction can happen to anyone.

A less traditional interpretation of the archetype. It says, even though i am nothing but a hound dog, dogs also have demons. We also make bad choices in our relationships. Addiction can happen to anyone.

This very dignified interpretation is very meaningful and accurate of the winehouse archetype. Behind the channeller is someone who could be described as a Blake force, which is a bad vibe thats trying to bring you down. This tells us to be strong and rock the beehive even though we got drunk one night and married a man who wears pastels. Divorce is not ideal, but it is a way out.

This very dignified interpretation is very meaningful and accurate of the winehouse archetype. Behind the channeller is someone who could be described as a 'Blake force', which is a bad vibe that's trying to bring you down. This tells us to be strong and rock the beehive even though we got drunk one night and married a man who wears pastels. Divorce is not ideal, but it is a way out.

Here is my interpretation, with Jabu, who plays the role of my psychiatrist / rehab physician. Here we can see how the Winehouse can represent positivity and hope, healing and freedom from judgement. Everyone deserves a second chance, and anything is possible with a good tan.

Here is my interpretation, with Jabu, who plays the role of my psychiatrist / rehab physician. Here we can see how the Winehouse can represent positivity and hope, healing and freedom from judgement. Everyone deserves a second chance, and anything is possible with a good tan.

This version of the Winehouse archetype makes us come face to face with our own possible weaknesses. The smear of cocaine across the nostril stands for that warm feeling we all get from sitting on the couch doing nothing, rather than striving for our goals. The blood signifies attempts to change that have gone awry. And the earrings alert us to the fact that there is a 50% sale at Claires. Everything must go.

This version of the Winehouse archetype makes us come face to face with our own possible weaknesses. The smear of cocaine across the nostril stands for that warm feeling we all get from sitting on the couch doing nothing, rather than striving for our goals. The blood signifies attempts to change that have gone awry. And the earrings alert us to the fact that there is a 50% sale at Claire's. Everything must go.

All in all, I feel like my interpretation helped me connect with my inner strong yet vulnerable woman who would rather date a drug-addled nobody than date no one at all. It also got me to brush out the knots in my hair so that i could make more knots. Thanks must go to my fabulous boss and stylist Jenny Ehlers, who plugged no less than 250 pins into my beehive.

Last archetype interpretation for bonus points:

This interpretation of the winehouse archetype says a) im white trash and amy is the class i aspire to b) my mom wont let me cut myself so i cut my Mr Price tank top (2 for the price of 1 so no biggie) or c) when i finish Matric im gonna wear this every day to tech and i dont care what my friends think because they just judge me anyway.

This interpretation of the winehouse archetype says a) i'm white trash and amy is the class i aspire to b) my mom won't let me cut myself so i cut my Mr Price tank top (2 for the price of 1 so no biggie) or c) when i finish Matric i'm gonna wear this every day to tech and i don't care what my 'friends' think because they just judge me anyway.

Leave a Reply

