How old are you in advertising years?

Today is Rei’s birthday and he turns 26. That makes him like 158 in advertising years. ❤ dating older guys. Happy birthday Rei. Bought him some Evisu sneaks. Not sure if Evisu is cool beyond jeans but he seems to like them, so think I did good.

Evisu sneaks.

Evisu sneaks.

Happy feet on the soles.

Happy feet on the soles.

Which brings me to today’s topic: How old are you in advertising years?

Here’s a simple equation to help you work it out:

Just plug in the variables.

Just plug in the variables.

Have been reminiscing about when I first got into advertising. I remember the day it happened. I was walking home from school through Keurboom Park just as the sun was setting, when a very pale man appeared from nowhere. He hissed and revealed a set of fangs and bit me in the neck. I blacked out but when I came to, I knew I was now a copywriter because I had the urge to bite headlines. Ppl always ask me why I’m so pale but now you know.

And so it was to be forever.

And so it was to be forever.

Am glad I was bitten by a writer and not by an art director tho, because then I would be chained to a Mac when the sun’s up, and also poor. As it is I can deal with sun, just have to  wear sunglasses the whole time. Another puzzle explained.

********************************~~~~~~~~~~*************************************


But that was like 400 years ago. Times have changed, and so has advertising. My people are increasingly misunderstood; as the creative class we have been chased into the trees / threatened with sharp sticks. Clients just don’t buy the “I’ve been in this business for centuries” rationale anymore. And they all seem to carry silver Parker Pens / Montblancs, if they’re not rejecting work because ‘it’s a full moon’ (hate being threatened :(.

Go write some lines.

Go write some lines.

Yes, I have seen all types of advertising come and go. I can never stay at one agency for too long because they cotton onto the fact that I seem very young yet know a lot. Can’t reveal the fact that I never age. Plus when yet another IT guy  disappears, ppl start getting suspicious. The life of a copywriter. Gotta keep moving y’ulle. Who wants to live forever hey. Who wants 2 live 4eva.

Cry me a river.

Leave a Reply

